News Photo
2017 Spring Athletic Banquet
Thu, May 4, 2017 - UST

Sunday evening, on the campus of the University of St. Thomas, the Celts Athletic Department honored their student-athletes at the 2017 Spring Athletic Banquet.

The evening started with a reception in the Jerabeck Activity and Athletic Center's Scanlan room before moving to Jones Hall for the formal presentation. St. Thomas Director of Athletics' Todd Smith opened the evening before introducing UST President Dr. Robert Ivany.  Dr. Ivany welcomed everyone and spoke briefly about the role sports played in his life and the positive influence athletics has on its participants and the community it serves.

A few of the attendees for the event were Father Mike Buentello, Provost Dominic Aquila, Marjorie Evans, Faculty Athletic Representative, Dr. Rick Krustchinsky, and Dr. Jack Follis.  Athletic Advisory Council members Michael Branda and Clay Hoster also joined the evening's festivities.

Student-athletes from each of the seven teams were in attendance to celebrate the year. Each team awarded a Scholar-athlete, Celt and MVP trophy to one of their team members. Attached is a complete list of award winners.

The highlight of the evening came at the end of the night when the Male and Female Student-Athletes of the Year were announced.

This year's Male Student Athlete of the Year was men's soccer player Ian Barbosa (SR/Rio de Janeiro, Brazil). Barbosa transferred to St. Thomas after playing two years at San Jacinto College. Originally from Brazil, he played center back as a junior and then moved to the midfield as a senior. He was named 2nd Team All-RRAC as a senior and 1st Team All RRAC as a senior.  He is studying Computer Science and has one more year before completing his degree.

For the third straight year the Marjorie Evans Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award went to a women's basketball player. Fifth year senior Maghen Lormand (SR/The Woodlands, Texas) finished her career as the most decorated basketball student-athlete ever to play for the Celts. Lormand ended her time on the court as UST's career leader in Games Played (117), Points (1679), Rebounds (864) Steals (164) and Made 3-Pointers (219). As a freshman she was the RRAC Newcomer of the Year and 2nd Team All-Conference. As a sophomore she again was named 2nd Team All-Conference and the UST Female Champions of Character recipient.  Her junior and senior year Lormand was RRAC All-Conference 1st Team and Honorable Mention All American.

Women's Golf -

MVP – Katy Colson

Celts Award – Amy Hendrix

Scholar Athlete – Andrea Lopez-Crespo


Men's Golf –

MVP – Peter Thorseth

Celts Award – Jordan Kleinecke

Scholar Athlete – Carlo Surace


Women's Basketball –

MVP – Maghen Lormand

Celts Award – Sheridan Hopkins

Scholar Athlete – Chanté Jefferson


Men's Basketball –

MVP – Kennard Robinson

Celts Award – Peter Ellwanger

Scholar Athlete – Bryon Makel


Women's Volleyball –

MVP – Candace Grosjean

Celts Award – Alyzabeth Vincent

Scholar Athlete – Emily Erwin


Men's Soccer

MVP – Ian Barbosa

Celts Award – Kelvin Iloba

Scholar Athlete – Carlos Marquez

Golden Boot – Oscar Zamudio


Women's Soccer

MVTP – Mariana Sanches

Celts Award – Rachael Bell

Scholar Athlete – Julia LaVergne

Golden Boot – Mariana Sanches


"Marjorie Evans"

Female Student Athlete of the Year Award


Maghen Lormand


Male Student Athlete of the Year Award


Ian Barbosa


Over 250 student-a​thletes, administrators, fans, friends and family attended the event.